the blog

a tan girl typing at her computer, she has orange dyed hair and large glasses

[03/30/2023] ==> ONE LAST QUCK UPDATE FOR NOW

Soo..I actually have several updates to give but I'll be quick I promise! Always feel bad when these get suuupeer long haha (´͈ ᵕ `͈ )

So first things first, if you were expecting this update to contain the presentation disk file dump...I got some bad news for you. This probably isn't even a shocker at this point, seeing the track record of issues I've already have with this company. I tried booting the floppy up with my USB converter and lo and behold…



I tried using another floppy reader, and then another one when that one didn't work. I even tried booting it back up on the Conduit II but same thing happened every single time. With the combo of this floppy being 30+ years old and it being left in some box for most of it, I guess I shouldn't be surprised.

Glad I at least have footage of the entire thing..unless that mysteriously gets corrupted too, knock on wood.

On a better note! That ebay seller got back to me! They told me they didn't have anything else by the company they would be willing to sell but that they did own a conduit I model in their collection they could show me and..



Ahh!! o(^∀^*)o It's so cool to see good photos of one of these! All I could find when researching was just very low-quality images or poorly scanned newspaper clippings. It definitely looks..a bit more boring compared to the conduit II but still..really neat to see!

I talked more with the seller about our collections and something really interesting came up. When I showed them the Conduit II after they asked me where I heard about Conduit, they seemed confused. I told them it was the model the presentation disk was advertising and they told me that they only heard of Conduit! releasing the Conduit I and its upgraded models.

I guess that explains why it’s so hard to find any information on the model I own..since even collectors of these things didn’t even know it existed haha.

I think that’s all I have left to update everyone on for now…Probably will be buying a lot of old smelly newspaper and magazine listings on ebay these coming weeks to see if I can run into some old ads for the Conduit II that people have long forgotten. If I run into anything interesting, you definitely will be hearing from me again soon.

[03/25/2023] ==> CRAZY EBAY FIND!

Feels like it's been forever since I've updated this site even though it's only been 8 days haha (¯▿¯). Well, I hope the wait was worth it as I have a huuuuuge thing to cover in this entry.

So, I'm scrolling on ebay, right? Window shopping for some new clothes and computer parts I don't need, and then..this comes up.



I was just going to pass it by originally but then I saw the listing had the words "Conduit!" In it and I swear, I blacked out and only came back to when I got the confirmation email. Such a crazy find! Only for 15 bucks too!

I asked the seller for some more info on the disk since all the listing said was "Conduit demo disk [WORKING]", but unfortunately, they told me they didn't have the time to look at the actual contents of the disk and had only put in in their drive to test if it would read.

I personally wouldn’t consider that “testing” a disk but oh well…(◔_◔) I'm not one to judge!

Out of curiosity, I also asked if they had anything else by conduit they were willing to sell, but I haven't gotten a response back yet. (Will definitely update everyone if they do!)

But anyway, enough of that preamble. I bet you're curious to see what's on this floppy, right? I was able to capture some parts of it but as you'll see, I started running into some..."familiar" issues later in haha (ᵕ—ᴗ—).

It's tooooooo long to have all the images all in this blog entry so I've made a new page for you all to view the presentation, along with all the little notes I made while going through it! Enjoy ♡

[03/18/2023] ==> QUICK UPDATE ON THE CONDUIT COMPUTER

Wooah two updates in one day haha..Don't worry this one won't be as long as the previous, just wanted to quickly update everyone on the whole conduit OS situation really quick.

If you didn't read the last entry, I ended it saying I was going to try file dumping what files I could from the system before wiping it since a lot of the applications and files were either corrupted or refusing to open no matter how I tried, but that the system settings were ALSO refusing to open..making it impossible for me to even try wiping anything from it.

After it still refused to open when I tried again a few minutes ago, I finally tried just opening it through the command line but big whoop! The moment I opened it, it gave me that same garbled text every other program gave me.



Ugh..(-_- ') It's issue after issue with this damn machine. I wish it was just hardware problems so I knew how to fix them but when it's something like this? I have no clue. Would help if there was...ANY documentation on this thing online but for right now, I'm currently in the dark.

[03/18/2023] ==> EXPLORING THE FLEA MARKET COMPUTER!

Hello again! I have aaallloot to talk about in this entry so I'll try to keep my rambling to a minimum and get right to the juicy stuff..

First! As the title implies, I finally got the courage to power on the computer I got from the flea, and good news.....didn't explode!! No smoke or anything! (੭˃ᴗ˂)੭ Woohoo!!



An 80s computer powered on. It says the words Conduit! on the screen with three colorfull stripes extending from the end of the word.

A old school style OS start screen. There is a big open tab that reads Welcome to Conduit OS

( this company sure does love putting those stripes everywhere don't they..)

I originally was going to just record my screen through my phone but when it booted to its own OS system, I immediately knew I needed to go through the effort to get my capture device out to properly show it to everyone.



A opened tab with multiple program names in it.

A writing program open with the words Hello World!typed in it.
While initally impressed, I started running into several issues while trying to check out certain stuff. From certain programs just refusing to open, to most of the programs that DO open just having a bunch of corrupted text in them, it made what I could do on the OS feel very restricted.



It's a bummer too since it seems like there's a lot of old personal files on here too? It's definitely a bit weird to go through someone else's stuff (even if it's decades old), but it's not like I was able to since it's all a garbled mess!

I also tried accessing the emails too (just out of morbid curiosity) and well..




(names censored for privacy)


The names were still intact initially until I tried opening some of the emails up. The text would get all garbled up like all the other documents so I stopped messing with it so I didn't screw up the poor thing even more. Maybe it's someone from above telling me not to me be so nosey haha.

ε-(ーдー) Sigh...really was such a shame. I'm still really grateful to own a machine like this but for its software to be this damaged is a shame. Not really sure where to go from here. I originally planned to upgrade it with a better sound and graphics card but it would be a waste with how little I'm able to do with it.

I've thought of trying to do a file dump of the intact files (obviously not including the personal ones) and sharing them here with everyone before wiping the computer, but I'm not exactly sure how I'd go ahead doing that when I STILL am having trouble accessing system settings as of writing this. I haven't tried doing it through the command line as of yet, so I'll probably update sometime later today if that even ends up working.

[03/15/2023] ==> OBSCURE FIND AT THE FLEA MARKET!

Hello! It's been a while since I updated, hasn't it? haha.. ( ̄▽ ̄*)ゞ

I completely forgot this page existed to be honest. Whoops.......but since I'm here now, I wanted to talk about the absolute beauty I just added to my collection!!



A front facing image of a 80s style computer sitting on a desk. It is powered off.

A side profile image of the same computer

(Look at the color details....so pretty..)


Really interesting thing to score at the flea...Usually, when I find old computers out in the wild they're the boring black box Dells that every classroom had in the 2000s (...usually broken too ( ̄︿ ̄) ). So when I saw this machine at the booth I occasionally scope out, I was quite surprised!

Never had a conduit computer before...never actually heard of the brand either! From my initial impressions, I thought they were just another IBM clone manufacturer from the 80s due to the general look of the machine..but! After doing some surface-level research on them (going through their very empty wiki), seems like they were just a very niche computer company that was geared towards a very niche market..really cool to own one of their computers though! Especially seeing how rare a machine of theirs is now in days..

Crazy to think I'd stumble into one of these things blind! Thank god the seller didn't know what he had on him or else I would've had to drop stupid cash on it (𖦹 _ 𖦹) ouu...

When I checked out the inside, everything seemed to be alright! I didn't see any component that looked like it was bulging or leaking, just some dust. So I hope it'll just boot on after some light cleaning. The overall computer itself wasn't that dirty as well. The One thing I AM worried about is the monitor smoking on me...I know it won't be the end of the world if it does, but it does mean I'd have to get a boring replacement that's not this gorgeous brown color.

Speaking of, I am in looooveee with the overall look of this computer. Love, love, LOVE the RGB theming and, again the brown monitor...reminds me of old CRT TVs. It's always nice to see an old pc that isn't the same greyish tan.

I don't really have much else to say about this machine! I'm still a little apprehensive to turn it on so maybe when I get the courage I'll update you all and see if there's anything interesting I run into...If you ever heard of or have experience with conduit computers let me know! Was really hard to find like..aaannyyy information on this model I have, so if it stirs any memories of yours, I'd love to hear it :3

[01/01/2023] ==> HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!




Happy New Years! This entry will be quick since I'm in the middle of a family get-together, secretly writing this on my phone haha.

New years...It's always nice to have a clean new slate to do new things and improve. I hope I can get better at teaching myself how to code and can continue to grow my collections and meet new people...

I also want to document my life more and just do things to make it more interesting! Hang out with friends! Go to more conventions! Just get out more! Have fun!

I hope everyone else's New Years is going well / went well...hope you all stay safe out there.

[11/23/2022] ==> MY BIG DAY OUT



(It was way too cold on the coast for me to be wearing that tank top..I was freezing my ass off.)

First actual blog entry...how exciting. I was saving it for when something fun happened in my life because I know no one is interested in reading five-paragraph rants about why you should never work in a call center.

Met up with a good friend of mine! She's usually extremely busy with work but was able to take Thanksgiving week to come down to Cali and visit. We've been meaning to do something like this for a while since the last time we properly saw each other was high school graduation....

We had a really nice time. We spent most of the time just hanging out at my place and catching up, but on the last day she was here we were able to go to the coast since the weather was nice enough.

It's always nice to get out and just dick around town. Work and just...my general-ness tends to usually prevent me from getting out the house a lot more than I like haha ( ̄▽ ̄*)ゞ...I have become something of a shut-in in recent years but I do try my best to get out and touch the grass every once in a while.

Anyway...I hope she'll be able to come down more often. Always nice to hang out with friends.

[09/06/2022] ==> FIRST BLOG ENTRY!!

I've been meaning to make this for a while but it's finally up!!

This page will probably be a mix of microblogs, diary entries, and documenting my ever-growing tech collection (¯▿¯). It also finally gives me a place to open my mouth and ramble about my (very uneventful) life.

I'm not sure how active this page will be as even though I am a rambler, I am also very shy...so just always keep your eyes peeled for whenever this updates haha.

low poly palm tree